• ASEAN+3 University Network
    ​The 4th ASEAN Summit in 1992 called for ASEAN Member Countries to help“hasten the solidarity and development of a regional identity through the promotion of human resource development so as to further strengthen the existing network of leading universities and institutions of higher learning in the region.”This idea led to the establishment of the AUN in November 1995 with the signing of its Charter by the Ministers responsible for higher education from six Member Countries, and with initial participation of eleven universities from six countries. A Memorandum of Agreement on the establishment of the ASEAN University Network was subsequently signed by the presidents/rectors/vice-chancellors of the participating Member Universities. The Agreement mandated the formation of a Board of Trustees and a Secretariat headed by an Executive Director.
  • ​The Global E3 Program
    The Global E3 Program (GE3) is a consortium-based exchange program for undergraduate engineering students to study abroad and carry out internships worldwide, all while continuing to pay tuition at home.
  • Eramus+ Programme
    Erasmus+ is the European Union programme for education, training, youth and sport. It runs for seven years, from 2014 to 2020, with organisations invited to apply for funding each year for life-changing activities.
  • The Global U8 Consortium
    The world is shrinking and more interdependent than ever due to developments in communication technology and the free movement of capital across national borders. Globalization can be a whirlwind: local, national, and regional economies have become interlocked and interdependent. In addition, computer-mediated technologies provide a highly cost-effective way to obtain much of the information and knowledge that used to be provided by universities. Therefore, there is no reason not to believe that most higher or tertiary education in industrialized countries will be electronically delivered in the near future.
  • The University Consortium of 21st Century Maritime Silk Road
    Authorized by the State Council in March 2015, National Development and Reform Commission raised an initiative titled“Vision and Actions on Jointly Building Silk Road Economic Belt and 21st-Century Maritime Silk Road”which proposes to support Fujian Province in becoming a core area of the 21st-Century Maritime Silk Road. In November 2016, the Ministry of Education signed the“Memoranda of International Cooperation on the Belt and Road Educational Action”with Fujian Province, aiming to support and promote Fujian Province and the countries along the Belt and Road to carry out broader and more in-depth regional cooperation of higher standard.
  • Worldwide Energy University Network
    Worldwide Energy University Network (hereafter referred to as WEUN) is a non-legally binding voluntary membership organization of research universities, brought together by a shared strategic interest in research, innovation, education and internationalization in the field of energy. WEUN was established at a conference on the 22nd September 2018 in Beijing initiated by its founder China University of Petroleum-Beijing (CUPB), through the representatives of the first cohort of 28 founding member universities.

Actively seeking to enhance its global engagement, XMU has forged partnerships with more than 250 universities across the world. Xiamen University has initiated and participated in a number of global networks, such as the University Consortium of 21st Century Maritime Silk Road, Gu8 Consortium, ASEAN University Network, Erasmus+ Program, Global Engineering Education Exchange, etc.  XMU has also played a significant role in the international promotion of Chinese language, co-establishing 15 Confucius Institutes with its partner universities in North America, Europe, Asia, Africa and other regions and being authorized by the Chinese government to build the Academy for Confucius Institute Directors. Due to its favorable geographical and cultural proximities to Taiwan, XMU has become a leading center for Taiwan Studies and the academic and cultural exchanges with Taiwan.

Xiamen University Malaysia

Xiamen University Malaysia (XMUM) is the first overseas campus set up by a renowned Chinese university and the first Chinese university branch campus in Malaysia.On 21st January 2013, XMU received an official invitation from the Malaysian government to open a branch campus in Malaysia. On 4th October of the same year, in the presence of the Chinese President Xi Jinping, an agreement on China Development Bank’s all-round support for the construction of XMUM was signed. The ground breaking ceremony of XMUM was held on 3rd July 2014. XMUM welcomed its pioneer batch of students on 22nd February 2016. Currently, it has a student enrolment of about 5,020 students from 28 countries and regions, such as Malaysia, China, Indonesia, Bangladesh, Egypt, Zambia, Korea, Japan, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.